Martin Mills - 10:56am Sep 2, 2001 PST (#35 of 40) 

Gene, here's the other rules queries I mentioned: 

1) ZOCs - the rules state a unit must stop on entering an enemy ZOC, but don't mention whether it is allowed to move directly from one ZOC to another. We've allowed this in our current game, and it seems to work OK, having a roughly neutral effect on play. But what was the intended rule? 

2) Engineers again, in the context of supply this time. Units must trace supply over a chain of "traversable hexes". Does an engineer unit adjacent to a river/canal hex make that hex traversable for supply purposes? In other words, does an engineer unit allow a friendly unit to trace supply over an unbridged river hex? 

3) Supply again : can airborne units switch to taking supply from the highway once XXX Corps reaches them, or do they have to keep within range of their dropzone? The latter seems very restrictive, and difficult to justify, unless it's simply factoring in traffic congestion on the highway. 

4) Removing fatigue - don't have the rules to hand, but almost sure they say that fatigue markers are removed from units "not adjacent to an enemy unit". This is different to "not in an enemy ZOC", most notably for fatigued units in an urban hex : is this correct, or should fatigue be removed if not in EZOC? 

I think that's it - thanks very much Martin 

Martin Mills - 02:12am Sep 4, 2001 PST (#36 of 40) 

Gene, sorry... another couple of questions (numbers follow on from previous posting), and some context. 

Our current campaign game has reached turn 16, and a fairly straightforward situation: XXX Corps has reached Nijmegen, wiping out pretty much all resistance behind it, and the Germans have demolished all Brits/Poles, and are preparing to contest the Allied crossing at Nijmegen. As the German, I'd be feeling relatively confident, except that I've recently noticed the Victory Conditions: these are defined in terms of the number of Allied units "northeast of the Rijn River", rather than the Neder Rijn (i.e. north of Arnhem only) as I'd been assuming. I can't really see any strategic/geographical reason for this, but of course it may be for game balance. So, the first question is 

5) Are the victory conditions correct as printed? 

If the answer is yes, it makes the answer to a further question more important, and complicated. The rules as printed don't spell out what happens when a Dropzone is destroyed, saying only that it is placed back on the map 2 turns later, but not where. There is errata on Grognards stating that it can be placed in clear or mixed terrain "within 10 or 15 hexes" of the original position (we said 10 hexes). But this can lead to a peculiar situation: if the 82nd Airborne loses its dropzone (not improbable, and has indeed just happened in our game), the 10 hex radius would allow it to be replaced northeast of the Rijn, and the 82nd reinforcements could therefore be placed directly into the Victory zone. This by itself potentially puts the Allies into Substantial Victory - and any units the Germans divert to dealing with it weaken the effort against XXX Corps. So the next question is rather vaguer: 

6) What are the exact rules governing placement of destroyed dropzones? 

Finally, and for future reference as it's too late to affect our game: 

7) Another document on Grognards gives the Germans the option of changing the entry hex of scheduled reinforcements at the cost of delaying them (1 turn for every 5 hexes, I think). It's not clear though if this is official GMT-authorised errata, or somebody's house rule. Ruling? That's definitely it, no more questions - except, are you looking for playtesters for the remake...? Thanks Martin 

Gene Billingsley - 06:13am Sep 25, 2001 PST (#38 of 40) 

Hi guys! Sorry, I missed those questions somehow the first time they came through, and didn't check back here until Matthew's new post keyed my "Subscribe" function to kick in. Here are the answers to Martin's first four. I'll check on the others shortly and get back on those. 

1. Yes, ZOC to ZOC movement is fine, but it requires ALL the unit's MA to perform. 

2. Yes, you can trace supply over an unbridged river hex through an engineer unit. 

3. Yes, the airborne units can trace supply down the highway once 30XXX clears it. Food and bullets            30XXX had in abundance. 

4. "Not adjacent" is indeed what I intended, not in an enemy ZOC. At this small hex scale, I thought that was appropriate. If/when we rework this game, I'll certainly revisit this, but unless it appears that this somehow "breaks" things, my intention is that a unit essentially has to break contact to recover. Hope this helps. Gene 

Gene Billingsley - 06:16am Sep 25, 2001 PST (#39 of 40) 

OK, on the other q:s. The key thing is the Victory conditions should say "across the Neder Riijn." And ten hexes is correct, with no limitations (the VP correction should make this a non-issue, I think). 

And #7 above is NOT official from GMT. I'd be interested to see how it works out, just didn't use or test it on our side. And yes, I'm sure we'll want testers, but not until Tony tells me he's ready for them. Enjoy the game! Gene

